Simplicity: The Environment

Some people aim for simplicity as part of a path to greener and more environmentally friendly life. As I’m aiming for a greener lifestyle alongside the simplicity, this post is for you.

I found the resources and became inspired by a post over at ClutterCut.

For the purpose of this blog, I’ve condensed the steps a little so please visit “How Can We?” for the full version of each task when you’ve finished reading.

My 1010 Check-List:
[Where an underlined heading means I’ve ticked the box]

1. Fly less, holiday more.
Never fly or just one flight per year, tick this option.

2. Save 10% on heating.
Turn down the thermostat, and insulate your ceiling and walls. If you don’t use gas or oil, tick the box right now.

3. Save 10% on electricity.
Change to compact fluoro lightglobes, replace old fridges and freezers, turn off the “standby” gadgets. If you produce your own electricity from solar or wind, tick the box right now.

4. Drive less.
Walk, cycle or take public transport. Tick the box right now if you have no car.

5. Eat better.
Local, in-season fruit and veg. Have one meat-free day a week. Tick the box if you don’t eat meat or dairy.

6. Buy good stuff.
Buy good quality things that last, repair broken things and buy and sell second hand items.

7. Dump less.
Avoid excess packaging and buying pointless stuff that goes straight in the bin. Recycle everything possible, and compost your food waste.

8. Don’t waste food.
Don’t buy more than you need, and use your leftovers.  [we give our minimal leftovers to the Badger/Fox/Birds]

9. Don’t waste water.
Tap water uses lots of energy – and then heating it in your home uses loads more. Take showers rather than baths, and only run full dishwashers & washing machines.

10. Feel happier!
It’s December 2010. If you’ve succeeded in everything above, tick this box!

When it comes to number 10 on that list, I found this:

“When I was 5 years old, my mom always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy.’ They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life.” — Anonymous, found at Abundance Blog.

I won’t tick it all as I eat meat & dairy due to health issues and can’t produce own electricity/heating due to student accommodation. However, I will be getting into the habit of more clothing layers and I already turn off standby products/take plugs out the sockets.

Leave me a comment and let me know what you plan to do for 2010.

~Rose.

Image Credit: Sustainable By Design

3 thoughts on “Simplicity: The Environment

  1. Pingback: TwoThousandAndNine « Pagan Wings

  2. Great post and link Rose.. have signed up as well. Pleased to see I’m already doing a few of these, thou could always do a bit more!

Leave a Reply

